Help! Help! I’m Being Repressed!

25 Feb

Well, it has happened again. PayPal has pushed Smashwords in a corner and made them submit. They are being forced to remove perfectly legal works of erotic fiction.

As I contemplate the actions over the last week or so by a corporation I have to wonder… is this a moralist crusade or perhaps even an attack on small businesses?  Now I don’t want to go getting politics in my smut, but seeing how erotica is not only a pleasure for me to write and something that I am very proud of, it is also my business. As the smaller online stores continue to fall, I am seeing what appears to be a corporation that is knocking the wind out of the sails of small “mom and pop” businesses.

If authors of other genres don’t stand up, it is only a matter of time before PayPal decides what you write is considered ‘obscene’. If consumers don’t stand up, it is only a matter of time before what you purchase is considered ‘obscene’.

I will continue writing naughty tales for anyone that is allowed chooses to read them.

You can still find my  all books at Amazon and BarnesandNoble

Links to more information:

http://www.adelaidecooper.com/2012/02/and-so-the-dominos-fall-smashwords/

http://selenakitt.com/blog/index.php/2012/02/24/slippery-slope-part-2-why-frogs-boil/

http://violetwilliamserotica.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/in-defense-of-erotica-3/

http://marlenesexton.blogspot.com/2012/02/smashwords-falls-victim-to-paypal.html?zx=682c774ac6d5fd56

http://virginia-wade-erotica.com/

9 Responses to “Help! Help! I’m Being Repressed!”

  1. leviadair69@gmail.com February 25, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    Bloody peasants….Well said Saffron!

  2. Kay February 25, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    So how can we help…You know those people who enjoying reading erotic books?…Is there something we can sign or someone we can email or let our thoughts on this subject be made know on fb…what can we do? I look forward to your reply…

    • Saffron Sands February 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Hello Kay,
      There is an online petition here http://www.thepetitionsite.com/7/stop-internet-censorship/ that you can sign.

      If you can… let your money talk by closing your account with PayPal

      ScrewPayPal.com has a list of alternatives to PayPal

      PayalSucks.com has a list of contact info if you would like to let them know how you feel.

      Continue to spread the word. Post information on your social networking sites.

      Thank you for your support,
      Saffron

      • Saffron Sands February 25, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

        I see my links didn’t work….

        ScrewPayPal.com~ http://www.screw-paypal.com/alternatives/alternatives.html

        PayPalSucks.com~ http://www.paypalsucks.com/faqs.shtml

      • Kbird February 25, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

        Done…antime it is for a good cause…and freedom is a great cause..

      • Jeff February 25, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

        I don’t write what you write. Sometimes I read it, sometimes I don’t. I believe PayPal is within its rights to do what it is doing.HOWEVER it is morally and ethically reprehensible for them to do this, you are entirely right that we, the people,, can vote with our pocketbooks and, um, er, wallets. Close your paypal accounts and rerout your buisness to sites that do not practice censorship. The line comes to me that”They came for the Jews.I was not a Jew and so I did not protest etc…”

        No one using PayPal is forced to buy what they do not wish to buy. So this comes down to censorship. If they can afford to lose the business then so be it. I closed out my PayPal account at the outset because their security measures were found lacking. But if I had an account I would close it now.

        Bullies need to be stood up to. However grammatically incorrect that might be.

  3. mikey2ct March 3, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    HERE is a link to a petition to protest: sablejordan.blogspot.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Erotica Book Banning Roundup – Part 2, and Smashwords Bows Under Pressure | S. V. Rowle - February 26, 2012

    […] Police (Ruth Madison) Workblog for the Week: Awards! Plague! Censorship! (Sin Is Beautiful) Help! Help! I’m Being Repressed! (Saffron Sands) Censorship Anyone? (Shauna Klein) The Changing Dystopian World of Erotica (Aurelia […]

  2. Writers & Publishers Blogs: A link List #censorship #paypal #erotica | Banned Writers - February 28, 2012

    […] Police (Ruth Madison) Workblog for the Week: Awards! Plague! Censorship! (Sin Is Beautiful) Help! Help! I’m Being Repressed! (Saffron Sands) Censorship Anyone? (Shauna Klein) The Changing Dystopian World of Erotica (Aurelia […]

Comments are closed.

